Acclaimed Pianist Joyce Yang Debuts with the Madison Symphony Orchestra
”Joyce Yang Plays Prokofiev” concerts in Overture Hall, November 8-10

Madison, Wis. – Pianist Joyce Yang joins the Madison Symphony Orchestra to perform Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major. The concert opens with Kernis’ Newly Drawn Sky and concludes with Schumann’s Symphony No. 2.

Performances will be held on Friday, November 8th at 7:30 p.m., Saturday, November 9th at 8:00 p.m., and Sunday, November 10th at 2:30 p.m. in Overture Hall, at 201 State Street.

John DeMain previews the concert’s program: “November brings us another Madison Symphony debut, that of the amazing pianist Joyce Yang. She will perform the Prokofiev’s dazzling third piano concerto, one of the great and most popular of concertos, and certainly a favorite of mine. And I can’t wait for you to experience the hauntingly beautiful Newly Drawn Sky, by Aaron Kernis. Of the four symphonies by Robert Schumann, many regard his second as the greatest of them all. A perfect way to spend a late fall weekend.”

According to Kernis, Newly Drawn Sky is “a lyrical, reflective piece for orchestra, a reminiscence of the first summer night by the ocean spent with my young twins, and of the summer sky at dusk“. The chromatically shifting three-note chords that begin in the strings and transfer to the winds are a central element in the creation of this work. The approximately sixteen minute long piece was premiered at the Ravinia Festival in 2005 by the Chicago Symphony.

Prokofiev himself played the solo part at the premiere of his Piano Concerto No. 3 on December 16th, 1921 in Chicago with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Although he started work on the composition as early as 1913, the majority was completed in 1921 and the piece didn’t gain popularity until 1922 when it was confirmed in the 20th century canon.

Originally a composer for keyboard, Schumann began writing symphonies around the time of his marriage to his wife Clara Wieck, who encouraged his compositional expansions. The uplifting Symphony in C major was created while the composer was troubled with depression and hearing loss; a Beethovenian triumph over pessimism and despair, the creation of this symphony served as a healing process for Schumann.

About Joyce Yang

Blessed with “poetic and sensitive pianism” (Washington Post) and a “wondrous sense of color” (San Francisco Classical Voice), Grammy-nominated pianist Joyce Yang captivates audiences with her virtuosity, lyricism, and interpretive sensitivity. She first came to international attention in 2005 when she won the silver medal at the 12th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. The youngest contestant at 19 years old, she took home two additional awards: Best Performance of Chamber Music (with the Takàcs Quartet), and Best Performance of a New Work. In 2006 Yang made her celebrated New York Philharmonic debut alongside Lorin Maazel at Avery Fisher Hall along with the orchestra’s tour of Asia, making a triumphant return to her hometown of Seoul, South Korea.

Concert, Ticket and Event Details
The lobby opens 90 minutes prior to each concert. One hour before each performance, Anders Yocom will lead a 30-minute Prelude Discussion in Overture Hall to enhance concertgoers’ understanding and listening experience. It is free to ticketholders. The Symphony recommends concert attendees arrive early for each performance to make sure they have time to pass through Overture Center’s security stations, and so they can experience the Prelude Discussion. Program notes for the concerts are available online: http://bit.ly/msonov19programnotes.

  • Single Tickets are $19-$95 each and are on sale now at: https://madisonsymphony.org/event/joyce-yang-plays-prokofiev/ through the Overture Center Box Office at 201 State Street, or by calling the Box Office at (608) 258-4141. Fees apply to online/phone sales.
  • Groups of 10 or more can save 25% by calling the MSO office at (608) 257-3734. For more information, visit, https://www.madisonsymphony.org/groups.
  • Student rush tickets can be purchased in person on the day of the concert at the Overture Center Box Office at 201 State Street. Students must show a valid student ID and can receive up to two $15 or $20 tickets. More information is at: https://www.madisonsymphony.org/studentrush 
  • Seniors age 62 and up receive 20% savings on advance and day-of-concert ticket purchases in select areas of the hall.
  • Flex-ticket booklets of 8-10 vouchers for 19-20 symphony subscription concerts are available. Learn more at: https://madisonsymphony.org/flex
  • Subscriptions for the 2019–2020 season are available now. Learn more at: https://madisonsymphony.org/19-20

Discounted seats are subject to availability, and discounts may not be combined.  

The Madison Symphony Orchestra celebrates its 94th season in 2019–2020. The MSO has grown to be one of America’s leading regional orchestras, providing Madison and south-central Wisconsin with cultural and educational opportunities to interact with great masterworks and top-tier guest artists from around the world. Learn more at madisonsymphony.org

Major funding for the November concert provided by Madison Magazine, Stephen D. Morton, National Guardian Life Insurance Company, Scott and Janet Cabot, and Peggy and Tom Pyle. Additional funding provided by Foley & Lardner LLP, Howard Kidd and Margaret Murphy, and the Wisconsin Arts Board with funds from the State of Wisconsin and the National Endowment for the Arts

Link to photos of John DeMain and the Madison Symphony Orchestra: http://bit.ly/mso19-20orchestraphotos
Link to MSO 19-20 concert and artist photos: http://bit.ly/mso19-20symphonyphotos
Link to 19-20 Madison Symphony season website pages: https://madisonsymphony.org/19-20
Link to November “Joyce Yang Plays Prokofiev” concerts: https://madisonsymphony.org/event/joyce-yang-plays-prokofiev/
Link to photos for November “Joyce Yang Plays Prokofiev”
concerts: http://bit.ly/msonov19photos

Programs, dates, and artists are subject to change.

Peter Rodgers, Director of Marketing
Phone: (608) 260-8680 x226
Mobile: (415) 713-0235
Email: prodgers@madisonsymphony.org

# # #