Endow a Chair

A legacy

Endow a Chair or Program

Gifts to the Madison Symphony Orchestra’s permanent endowment can be made for general or specific purposes. Gifts may be pledged and paid in installments on a schedule to be agreed upon between you and the Symphony.

Endowing a chair or program provides reliable, ongoing funding to underwrite key Madison Symphony Orchestra programs and retain outstanding musicians. Naming opportunities are available at giving levels that have been approved by the MSO Board of Directors. Because endowed chairs and programs are named in perpetuity, they offer a special opportunity to leave your own legacy or memorialize a loved one.


Available Chair Naming Opportunities

  • Music Director’s Chair (The Podium)
  • Associate Concertmaster (Violin I)
  • Principal Chairs: Bass, Bassoon, Tuba
  • Assistant Principal Bass Chair
  • Section Chairs (most instruments)
  • Chorus Accompanist


Available Program Naming Opportunities

View Endowed Chairs and Programs
  • William & Joyce Wartmann Chair: Concertmaster
  • Steinhauer Charitable Trust Chair: Co-Concertmaster Violin I
  • George & Candy Gialamas Chair: Associate Concertmaster Violin I
  • Endowed by an Anonymous Friend: Assistant Concertmaster Violin I
  • Annetta H. Rosser Chair: Section Violin I
  • Stanley & Shirley Inhorn Chair: Principal Violin II
  • Elyn L. Williams Chair: Assistant Principal Violin II
  • James F. Crow Chair: Principal Viola
  • Dove Family Chair: Assistant Principal Viola
  • Reuhl Family Chair: Principal Cello
  • Patricia Kokotailo & R. Lawrence DeRoo Chair: Assistant Principal Cello
  • Knapp Family Chair: Section Cello
  • Tom Mohs Chair: Section Bass
  • Terry Family Foundation Chair: Principal Flute
  • Jim & Cathie Burgess Chair: Principal Oboe
  • Barbara & Norman Berven Chair: Principal Clarinet
  • Steve & Marianne Schlecht Chair: Principal Horn
  • Marilynn G. Thompson Chair: Principal Trumpet
  • Fred & Mary Mohs Chair: Principal Trombone
  • Eugenie Mayer Bolz Foundation Chair: Principal Timpani
  • JoAnn Six Plesko & E.J. Plesko Chair: Principal Percussion
  • Stephen D. Morton Chair: Principal Piano
  • Endowed by an Anonymous Friend: Principal Harp
  • Elaine and Nicholas Mischler Curatorship: Overture Concert Organ Curator
  • Diane Endres Ballweg Fund: Organ Outreach and Programming
  • John & Carolyn Peterson Chair: Music Librarian
  • John & Carolyn Peterson Music Library
  • Eugenie Mayer Bolz Family Foundation: Bolz Young Artist Competition
  • Claudia Berry and David E. Miran Chair: Madison Symphony Chorus Director

To learn more about these naming opportunities, or to discuss an idea of your own, contact Casey Oelkers, Director of Development, (608) 257-3734, coelkers@madisonsymphony.org.